Vegan Biscuits and Gravy

I am so glad that my husband likes to cook! We really like to cook Sunday breakfast in our house…and over the past year (since my daughter has been a vegan) it’s been more of a challenge finding good “breakfast” food but it’s actually never tasted better!  I used to be satisfied with just some scrambled eggs, maybe with a little onion, bell pepper and mushrooms, and a toasted English muffin.  Not any more!  Please allow me to introduce you to…..Vegan Biscuits and Gravy!  (Applause!)

biscuits & gravy 11I really think these were the best biscuits and gravy I have ever had!  Ok, so years ago before I actually cared about what I ate, I could probably enjoy a nice, greasy sausage gravy.  But after years of watching what I eat, and not eating the greasy and fried foods any more (well, I’ll still eat some fried up falafel), I just can’t eat that stuff any more, nor do I want to!  It’s not even appetizing to me any more!  This biscuits and gravy recipe that my husband found (I wish I could say it’s an original, but we did tweak it a little) was so dang tasty and it really scored big in all the right places!  You can find the recipe here.  But I will also detail below.

Ok so let’s get started, shall we?  First of all, this smoky tempeh (say TEM-pay) “fakin’ bacon” was the best in this recipe!  Here you can find more information about tempeh.  It is a plant-based protein and comes in different varieties, but the bacon is what you want in this for sure! I can find tempeh at Whole Foods.

The recipe comes with a biscuit recipe, but we opted to use some Original Bisquick for ours.  This is why:

biscuits & gravy 1They turned out so fluffy!  Now for the gravy mix:   So basically, you heat the oil in a large skillet and sauté the onion 3-5 minutes.  While that’s cooking, slice or crumble the tempeh and slice a few mushrooms (this is our addition…we all really like mushrooms in this house).  Add the mushrooms first and sauté for 3-5 minutes until they begin to brown and are glistening and you can smell the nice, earthy aroma.  Add the tempeh and continue to sauté until heated through.  Transfer to a bowl.

Next:  add additional oil to pan and heat, then add flour and cook and stir until it starts to brown to make a nice roux; slowly add soymilk, whisking constantly to dissolve the roux and thicken the gravy (you may need to turn the heat up a bit, but keep whisking so it doesn’t burn).  Once the gravy has thickened, add the tempeh mixture and spices and stir to combine.

Serve over biscuits…

Ok…not everyone in this house is a vegan, so hence the scrambled eggs.  Pair it up with anything you choose….  And enjoy!  We sure did!  We’ll be making this again very, very soon!  ‘Cuz I’m drooling here!

Leave a Reply

