Vegan Chocolate Cake Recipe

*Recipes below have been edited since original post.

I have a delicious chocolate cake recipe that I have been using for more than 25 years! It’s always been my go-to homemade chocolate cake. It’s not an original, it’s from an old Hershey’s cookbook from 1988, but I googled it and it’s still out there on the Hershey’s website.  I didn’t have to modify it at all to be vegan.  It’s called Lickety-Split Cocoa Cake and you can click here for the recipe.  My husband grew up on a delicious chocolate cake recipe he called “Natalie’s Chocolate Cake” named after the person who gave his grandmother the recipe.  I have that recipe but it calls for 2 sticks of butter. (Yikes!)  It’s saved for special occasions.  Maybe I’ll share the recipe later.  But one reason (besides the moist butteriness) that my husband likes it so much is that it has cinnamon in it, and cinnamon complements the chocolate very nicely.  So in my Lickety-Split Cocoa Cake, I add 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon.  Delicious!  The recipe makes a square or round cake-pan sized cake, double it if you want a 9X13.

I  have 3 different chocolate frostings that I use often.  The first and quickest method is to buy a can of frosting at the grocery store.  Not all frosting is vegan so you have to look at labels.  I can never remember what  brand I buy, I usually have to just stand there and look through all the labels till I find one.  The second comes from my husband’s Aunt Jenese (the most requested in my household).  And the third I received from a family member nearly 20 years ago and I have no idea of it’s origin.  But it’s too good not to share.  IMG_7569

Aunt Jenese’s Fudgy Frosting

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup cocoa
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 stick butter, melted
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

To make it vegan, substitute with soy milk (or other non-dairy milk of your choice) and vegan butter sticks (see Vegan Baking post).

Melt butter in saucepan then add remaining ingredients except vanilla; stir constantly and bring to a boil over medium heat.  Let cook for 1 minute without stirring.  Remove from heat and using an electric hand mixer, beat (right in your saucepan) until it thickens and is creamy like fudge.  Add vanilla about half-way through beating. (It usually takes about 5 minutes to get it to the consistency that I like).  Immediately spread over cooled cake.  Makes enough for a 9X13. Half the recipe for a square or round cake.

Gooey Fudgy Frosting

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 4 Tablespoons (1/2 stick) butter
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

To make vegan substitute with soy milk (or other no-dairy milk of your choice), vegan butter sticks and vegan chocolate chips (see Vegan baking post).

In small saucepan, melt butter, then add sugar and milk; bring to a boil over medium heat. Boil for 1 minute stirring constantly.  Remove from heat and stir in chocolate chips (sometimes I have to keep it on low heat because the frosting starts to firm up before my chips are completely melted).  Immediately pour and spread over cake. Makes enough for 9X13.

So, now you have a vegan brownie recipe and a vegan chocolate cake recipe.  Yum!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

